The End of the World Running Club

The ultimate race against time post-apocalyptic thriller

The End of the World Running Club

A powerful post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of The End of the F*cking World. 'A real find' STEPHEN KING When the world ends and you find yourself stranded on the wrong side of the country, every second counts. No one knows this more than Edgar Hill. 550 miles away from his family, he must push himself to the very limit to get back to them, or risk losing them forever... His best option is to run. But what if your best isn’t good enough? The Number One race-against-time bestseller as featured on Simon Mayo’s Radio 2 Book Club *The sequel, The Survivors’ Club, is now available to pre-order* What readers are saying - over 350 5* reader reviews: ‘Difficult to put down and impossible to forget’ ‘A real page turner’ ‘An absolute joy of a read’ ‘Gripping and entertaining all the way through’ ‘Exciting right from the beginning and it left me wanting more’ ‘This book gets better with every page turn’

The End of the World Survivors Club

The End of the World Survivors Club

In THE END OF THE WORLD RUNNING CLUB Edgar Hill ran 550 miles after an apocalypse to try and find his family. He had it easy. This is his wife’s story. Beth Hill has survived the apocalypse with a baby and toddler in tow. And what’s more she’s done it alone - without her husband’s help. He’s never been any help. But when disaster strikes and someone steals her kids, she knows what she has to do. The new world might be very different: no government, no law, no infrastructure and a whole lot more ocean than there used to be. But one thing hasn’t changed - the lengths a mother will go to save her family...

The Last Dog on Earth

The Last Dog on Earth

Every dog has its day... And for Lineker, a happy go lucky mongrel from Peckham, the day the world ends is his: finally a chance to prove to his owner just how loyal he can be. Reg, an agoraphobic writer with an obsession for nineties football, plans to wait out the impending doom in his second floor flat, hiding himself away from the riots outside. But when an abandoned orphan shows up in the stairwell of their building, Reg and Lineker must brave the outside in order to save not only the child, but themselves...

The Human Son

The Human Son

500 YEARS IN THE FUTURE, EARTH IS A PARADISE... WITHOUT US. The Earth was dying, and only the Erta could save it. Created to be genetically superior, hyper-intelligent and unburdened by the full range of human emotions, they succeeded by removing the cause: humans. Now the Erta are faced with a dilemma—if they reintroduce the rebellious and violent Homo sapiens, all of their work could be undone. They decide to raise one child: a sole human to decide if we should again inherit the Earth. But the quiet and clinical Ima finds that there is more to raising a human than she had expected; and there is more to humanity’s history than she has been told.

Suckers

A Horror Novel

Suckers

“What we have here is a very high-quality junkie novel that happens to be about a unique case of vampirism.” —Evan Clark, author of Movers. WHEN WORN-OUT MUSICIAN DAN FERRY decides to take a shortcut back to the band's hotel, he picks the wrong dark alley to go down. Within days of being attacked by a bat-like creature, he becomes consumed with the need to drink human blood. Terrified of what will happen if he doesn't get his fix--and terrified of what he'll do to get it--he turns to his best friend and bandmate, Ray Ford, for help. But what the two don't know as they try to keep Dan's situation quiet is that the parasite driving Dan's addiction has the potential to wipe out humankind. Poignant and terrifying, heartfelt and ingenious, Suckers is a story of sacrifice and friendship in the face of an alien contagion that threatens to destroy humanity. Read it today. "Mixing recent apocalyptic and zombie stories with classic vampire legends, Rider has come up with a daring and eminently readable new take on both." — Publisher’s Weekly "Suckers manages to create an almost perfect balance between the tragic, real life, and the modern macabre... One of the most realistic and original novels I have read this year." — A Slice of Horror "As far as apocalypse novels go, this is one of the best I have read." — Dark Matter Zine "The author plays with our expectations of vampiric tales and makes this something totally new." — The Books of Blood "Easy to immerse into and entirely engrossing." — 100% ROCK Magazine "I found myself sat on my own in the dark in the wee small hours, book still clutched in my hands as everyone slept, refusing to sleep till I had finished and finish I did, in one night!" — Scarlet's Web

From the Storm

From the Storm

"We don't know what his name is or where he came from, but he is living in my room." In the near future, a young man seeks adventure in the French Alps. Lost, feverish and caught in a freak snowstorm, he finds refuge in a lonely mountain farm where he stumbles upon a young girl's diary from eighty years before. Claudette tells of farm life disrupted by a blizzard and the arrival of a stranger with a terrible injury. With her father sick, the eight-year-old chronicles her struggle to look after the farm, and its unwanted guest, alone. In present day London, Joseph Martin has screwed up. Once he was a lethal assassin, the best gun-for-hire. Now, in his autumn years, even he has to admit he is losing it. His failing skills have landed him in trouble with a dangerous client. Only the successful completion of an eerily familiar mission can save his skin; a mission which takes him into deepest Asia, where he must face a past he has long tried to forget. He's not the only one on the road in Asia. London city boy Ashley Gritten is travelling. Shedding the challenges of his privileged life in Kensington, he's off to 'find himself' in the drugs, girls and debauchery of the backpacker trail. But something else finds him. Something much, much worse.Who would have thought that a rich kid and an ageing hit man would have so much in common? And what does all of this have to do with Elmo, a pianist on his death bed in Venice?From The Storm is a dark and humorous story of how selves are lost and lives are found.

Not the End of the World

Not the End of the World

Death threats rock a Hollywood film festival: “Imagine Day of the Locust updated and rewritten by Carl Hiaasen” (Kirkus Reviews). After a family tragedy, LAPD cop Larry Freeman gets back to work with what he thinks is a simple assignment: Keep a rabid group of right-wing evangelical protestors as far away as possible from a celluloid celebration of ex—and very X—adult film actors. But when an oceanic research vessel off the West Coast is discovered with its crew vanished, Freeman has no idea how dirty this twisty game in the City of Angels is going to get. The players include the voluptuous daughter of a conservative US senator, a Glaswegian photographer with a mysterious agenda, a yacht-load of Hollywood producers, a throng of faded stars feeling more exposed than ever, and a band of self-righteous extremists bent on a glittering apocalypse. Set on the near side of the millennium, at a point when the world is about to spin out of control, this witty thriller delivers “a crazy off-the-wall roller coaster of a book that throws in not only the kitchen sink but the dresser, the best china, and the cook herself” (The Irish Times). “A wild, no-punches-pulled ride.” —The Philadelphia Weekly

Chasing the Runner's High

My Sixty Million-Step Program

Chasing the Runner's High

In -Chasing the Runner's High-, Ray Charbonneau tells the story how he pushed his addiction to running up to, and then past, his limits. There are plenty of hard miles, but there's lots of fun along the way too as Ray shares what he learned, what he should have learned, and what he still has to learn from running. Marshall Ulrich, 4-time winner of the Badwater Ultramarathon and author of -Running on Empty-, calls Chasing the Runner's High -a look at one man's life and obsession with running and addictive behaviors. Humorous at times, but always looking toward the greater good, Ray shares life's ups and downs and provides a hard look into the mind of a runner, offering advice that can only be had with experience and hard fought miles underfoot. Adena Schulzberg, winner of the 2006 Arkansas Marathon, writes, -these are brutally honest tales, told with candor and frankness about strength, courage, obsession, desire and hard won understanding of self and sport.- It's a great read for runners or for non-runners who want to understand their running friends. www.y42k.com/books/chasingtherunnershigh.html

Veeck--As In Wreck

The Autobiography of Bill Veeck

Veeck--As In Wreck

Bill Veeck was an inspired team builder, a consummate showman, and one of the greatest baseball men ever involved in the game. His classic autobiography, written with the talented sportswriter Ed Linn, is an uproarious book packed with information about the history of baseball and tales of players and owners, including some of the most entertaining stories in all of sports literature.

Running in Florida

A Practical Guide for Runners in the Sunshine State

Running in Florida

Whether you long to go for a leisurely jog through solitary nature trails or dash through action-packed urban roads, you'll find everything you need to get your feet moving in this complete guide to the best running in the state of Florida. Author and lifetime running enthusiast Mauricio Herreros has located the 150 top places to run in Florida, and offers them here with complete directions, mileage of a run and extended variations, where to find facilities and parking, whether there are fees, the condition of the terrain, and even safety tips and descriptions of the scenery. You will also find the 150 most remarkable and popular races, including location and surrounding events. Names and addresses of running clubs and other useful resources are offered for each locality. With a general references list for runners, a pace chart, and over fifty black-and-white photos, nothing is left unexplored in this handy guide. So get your running shoes on, top off that water bottle, and grab a copy of Running in Florida. Whether you're a novice or a veteran trail blazer, you're sure to find the right run for you.