The Tudor Child

Clothing and Culture 1485 to 1625

The Tudor Child

This book provides a social history of babies and children from the late fifteenth century to the Jacobean era. The book offers fascinating insights into the conventions of children's dress, including swaddling infants, boys in skirts and stiffened bodices for young girls.

The Tudor Brandons

Mary and Charles - Henry VIII's Nearest & Dearest

The Tudor Brandons

This fascinating book studies the life and times of Mary Tudor and Charles Brandon, Henry VIII's dearest sister and his closest companion. Charles rose from being Henry's childhood friend to becoming the Duke of Suffolk; a consummate courtier and diplomat. Mary was always royalty. At first married to the King of France, Mary quickly wed Charles after Louis XII's death in 1515, against her brother's wishes. Their actions could have been construed as treason yet Henry chose to spare their lives. They returned to court and despite their ongoing disagreements throughout the years, especially over the king's marriage to Anne Boleyn, the Tudor Brandons remained Henry's most loyal subjects and perhaps more importantly, his beloved family.

The Tudor Housewife

The Tudor Housewife

The political and military history of the sixteenth century is well known, and much written about, but what of the thousands of women who have, for the most part, eluded the historian's pen? The Tudor Housewife aims to answer this question, providing a unique and accessible introduction to everyday life and responsibilities of women from all levels of society in the age of Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. With chapters on marriage, childbirth, the upbringing of children, washing and cleaning, food and drink, the housewife as doctor, women and business, and women and religion, Alison Sim reveals how women were expected to manage businesses as well as the household accounts, take extensive personal interest in the moral welfare of their children, adminster medicine to their households and act as a helpmeet to their husbands in every aspect of life. This book unveils the powerful position of ordinary women in Tudor society and provides a captivating insight into their lives.

Sisters of Treason

Sisters of Treason

Sisters of Treason is a powerful and moving story of passion and peril in Tudor England, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel. Mary Tudor clings fearfully to the English throne. Seeing the threat posed by her cousin, Lady Jane Grey, the Queen orders her execution. But what of Lady Jane's young sisters - Katherine and Mary? Cursed with royal blood, they must endure the perils of a Tudor court, closely observed by its paranoid Queen. Entranced by the drama, intrigue and romance of court life, young Lady Katherine's desire for love leads her to make ill-advised and dangerous liaisons. Burdened with a crooked back, her younger sister, Lady Mary - the 'mouse' - is seen as no threat and becomes privy to the Queen's most intimate secrets. Yet Mary, who yearns to escape court dramas, knows her closeness to the Queen could be her undoing. For the Queen is childless and in ill-health. If she should die, her fearsome sister Elizabeth will inherit the crown. Then Katherine and Mary will find court a maze of treachery and danger - where possessing royal blood is the gravest crime of all . . . Praise for Elizabeth Fremantle: 'An endlessly fascinating era, and Fremantle manages to combine pacey storytelling with superb background. . .terrifically entertaining.' The Times 'Fremantle is surely a major new voice in historical fiction (...) what Hilary Mantel fans should read while waiting for the final part of her trilogy' The Bookseller 'A sumptuous epic' Metro 'Gripping' Woman & Home 'A great read. Sisters of Treason totally transports the reader to the Tudor court, with all its tensions and games' Katherine Webb, author of The Misbegotten 'Electric' Good Housekeeping 'Rich and enticing' Stylist 'Elizabeth Fremantle brings the decadent, conniving, back-stabbing world of the 16th-century British court to brilliant life here, revealing what one woman can teach us all about the timeless art of survival'Andrea Walker, Oprah.com 'Wildly entertaining' Huffington Post Elizabeth Fremantle is the author of Queen's Gambit and Sisters of Treason. She holds a first in English and an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck. As a Fashion Editor she has contributed to various publications includingVogue, Elle, and Vanity Fair. Her debut novel, Queen's Gambit, was published in 2013 followed by Sisters of Treason. Her new novel, Watch the Lady, is out in June 2015.

Tudor Times

Tudor Times


Curriculum Focus The Tudors History KS2

Curriculum Focus The Tudors History KS2

Part of a popular series that will inspire the teachers, especially the non-specialists, to teach history and geography with confidence. * comprehensive background information * extensive photocopiable resources such as pictures, charts and diagrams * detailed lesson plans * differentiated activities at three ability levels * ideas for support and extension * suggestions for incorporating ICT. The Tudors chapters include: * The Tudor family * Henry VIII * The six wives of Henry VIII * Why did Henry marry six times? * Rich people in Tudor times * Poor people in Tudor times * Compare and contrast Tudor life with life today * Exploration in the Tudor period * Drake's voyage around the world * English settlements in America

The Lives of Tudor Women

The Lives of Tudor Women

The turbulent Tudor age never fails to capture the imagination. But what was it actually like to be a woman during this period? This was a time when death in infancy or during childbirth was rife;when marriage was usually a legal contract, not a matter for love, and the education of women was minimal at best. Yet the Tudor century was also dominated by powerful and characterful women in a way that no era had been before. Elizabeth Norton explores the seven ages of the Tudor woman, from childhood to old age, through the diverging examples of women such as Elizabeth Tudor, Henry VIII's sister who died in infancy;Cecily Burbage, Elizabeth's wet nurse;Mary Howard, widowed but influential at court;Elizabeth Boleyn, mother of a controversial queen;and Elizabeth Barton, a peasant girl who would be lauded as a prophetess. Their stories are interwoven with studies of topics ranging from Tudor toys to contraception to witchcraft, painting a portrait of the lives of queens and serving maids, nuns and harlots, widows and chaperones.

The Tudor Vendetta

A Novel

The Tudor Vendetta

London, 1558. Queen Mary is dead, and 25-year old Elizabeth ascends the throne. Summoned to court from exile abroad, Elizabeth's intimate spy, Brendan Prescott, is reunited with the young queen, as well as his beloved Kate, scheming William Cecil, and arch-rival, Robert Dudley. A poison attempt on Elizabeth soon overshadows her coronation, but before Brendan can investigate, Elizabeth summons him in private to dispatch him on a far more confidential mission: to find her favored lady in waiting, Lady Parry, who has disappeared during a visit to her family manor in Yorkshire. Upon his arrival at the desolate sea-side manor where Lady Parry was last seen, he encounters a strange, impoverished family beset by grief, as well as mounting evidence that they hide a secret from him. The mystery surrounding Lady Parry deepens as Brendan begins to realize there is far more going on at the manor than meets the eye, but the closer he gets to the heart of the mystery in Vaughn Hall, the more he learns that in his zeal to uncover the truth, he could be precipitating Elizabeth's destruction. From the intrigue-laden passages of Whitehall to a foreboding Catholic manor and the deadly underworld of London, Brendan must race against time to unravel a vendetta that will strike at the very core of his world—a vendetta that could expose a buried past and betray everything he has fought for, including his loyalty to his queen. The Tudor Vendetta is the third volume in the Spymaster Chronicles series by C.W. Gortner.

The Art of Tasha Tudor

The Art of Tasha Tudor

This is the definitive book on Tasha Tudor's art, including more than 150 of her finest paintings and drawings with an informative biographical text.

Tudor Children

Tudor Children

Each book in the 'People in the Past' series explores how people lived and what our own society has learnt from ancient or older civilisations. This volume examines how children lived during the time of the Tudors.